C³ Mobility - Closed Carbon Cycle Mobility - Climate Neutral Fuels for Future Transport

The joint project wants to develop and demonstrate new ways into the CO2-neutral mobility of the future. It refers to the funding announcement "Energy transition in transport: sector coupling through the use of power-based fuels" of the German Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Technology from spring 2017. To this end, a comprehensive consortium of 28 partners has been formed from all areas covered in the announcement in order to adequately address the issues described in their entirety to edit.

The most effective way to transport, store and use large amounts of energy in traffic is provided by liquid energy sources. In future, the use of regenerative fuel based on methanol will make the most sense. Besides its direct use as fuel, its (local) further processing should also be investigated. Furthermore, approaches are to be presented already today by adding stream-based fuels (drop-in fuel) to reduce fleet emissions. For this purpose, MtG (methanol-to-gasoline) is to be produced in a demonstration plant and its use in gasoline engines to be represented. In the diesel engine 1-octanol is available as drop-in fuel. For future applications, 2-butanol will be considered as drop-in fuel, octane booster and as pure fuel for gasoline engines and OME / DME taking into account the multi-fuel capability for diesel engines.

The vehicle suitability of the new fuels should be validated under real driving conditions; Their efficiency and their environmental compatibility are to be assessed holistically in the production and consumption chains as well as in sales and market introduction.

BSE supports the project through an associated partnership.


(Support Code: 19I18006, Duration: August 2018 - July 2021)

c3-mobility

Partner

fev
hyundai
shell
avl
tu freiberg
liebherr
daimler
ford
owi
cac
tu darmstadt
tu dresden
continental
rwth aachen
denso
c3 opel
fz jülich
fh-aachen
bmw
fraunhofer
bse
umicore
tec4fuels
weissgerber
grillo
vw
innogy
deutz
bmwi

We develop power-based fuels for plug-in hybrid cars...

We support the transition to power-based fuels...

We provide you with tailored information over the entire lifecycle of your plant...

We produce renewable Methanol from Carbon Dioxide...

We sustainable improve the operation of your energy farm...

C³ Mobility - Closed Carbon Cycle - Klimaneutrale Kraftstoffe für den Verkehr

Das Verbundprojekt will neue Wege in die CO2-neutrale Mobilität der Zukunft erarbeiten und demonstrieren. Es bezieht sich auf die Förderbekanntmachung „Energiewende im Verkehr: Sektorkopplung durch die Nutzung strombasierter Kraftstoffe“ des BMWi vom Frühjahr 2017. Dazu hat sich ein umfassendes Konsortium von 28 Partnern aus allen in der Bekanntmachung thematisierten Bereichen gebildet, um die beschriebene Problematik in seiner Gesamtheit angemessen bearbeiten zu können.

Den effektivsten Weg für Transport, Lagerung und Einsatz großer Energiemengen im Verkehr ermöglichen flüssige Energieträger. Am sinnvollsten erscheint zukünftig die Nutzung von regenerativ erzeugtem Kraftstoff auf der Basis von Methanol. Neben dessen direkter Nutzung als Kraftstoff soll auch seine (lokale) Weiterverarbeitung untersucht werden. Weiterhin sollen Ansätze dargestellt werden, schon heute durch Beimischung strombasierter Kraftstoffe (Drop-In Fuel) die Flottenemissionen zu senken. Dazu soll MtG (Methanol-to-Gasoline) in einer Demonstrations-Anlage produziert und seine Nutzung im Ottomotor dargestellt werden. Im Dieselmotor steht 1-Oktanol als Drop-In Fuel zur Verfügung. Für zukünftige Anwendungen werden weiterhin 2-Butanol als Drop-In Fuel, Oktan-Booster und als Reinkraftstoff für Ottomotoren sowie OME/DME unter der Berücksichtigung der Vielstofffähigkeit für Dieselmotoren betrachtet.

Die Fahrzeugtauglichkeit der neuen Kraftstoffe soll unter realen Fahrbedingungen validiert werden; ihr Wirkungsgrad und ihre Umweltverträglichkeit sollen in den Herstellungs- und Verbrauchsketten sowie in Vertrieb und Markteinführung gesamtheitlich bewertet werden.

BSE unterstützt das Projekt im Rahmen einer assoziierten Partnerschaft.


(FKZ: 19I18006, Laufzeit: August 2018 bis Juli 2021)

c3-mobility

Partner

fev
hyundai
shell
avl
tu freiberg
liebherr
daimler
ford
owi
cac
tu darmstadt
tu dresden
continental
rwth aachen
denso
c3 opel
fz jülich
fh-aachen
bmw
fraunhofer
bse
umicore
tec4fuels
weissgerber
grillo
vw
innogy
deutz
bmwi

Wir entwickeln strombasierte Kraftstoffe für Plug-in-Hybridfahrzeuge...

Wir unterstützen bei der Umstellung auf strombasierte Kraftstoffe...

Wir entwicklen die digitale Lebenslaufakte...

Wir produzieren erneuerbares Methanol aus Kohlenstoffdioxid...

Wir vernetzen Erneuerbare Energieanlagen...